Jakarta-Bandung high-speed train hits 350 km/h in trial run

Study on Bandung-Surabaya high-speed rail link, China-Laos Railway records 25,000 cross-border passenger trips, HCMC - Can Tho railway.

Welcome to another edition of the Southeast Asia Railways Newsletter!

I spent most of this month in Chiang Mai, so there wasn’t much train travel this month. I got the train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai with a stopover in Phitsanulok. I will do a write-up about this trip soon.

[Phitsanulok Station: @nomadicnotes.]

The last time I took this train was at night, so I missed the scenery of Northern Thailand. I was surprised by how scenic it was, considering that it doesn’t get much attention. There is a special train that is offering tours on this route, so it might become more known. The Jungle Train (not to be confused with the Malaysian Jungle Railway) traverses the mountains during the best time of day. Here is a link for that trip.

I will be in Malaysia and Indonesia at the end of July. I plan to cover the urban transit railways in KL, and then go to Sumatra. I will time my trip to see the opening of the Jakarta-Bandung HSR. There is a danger that tickets will be as hard to get as a Taylor Swift concert, so that is something else I have to consider.

The Jakarta-Bandung HSR has been undergoing test runs, and it is now by far the fastest train in Southeast Asia. It was reported that it reached a speed of 350 km/h, and its maximum speed is 385 km/h. This video shows it going at 386 km/h. For context, the current fastest train is 160 km/h.

The proposed Trans-Borneo Railway was in the news again this month, so I have compiled a fact sheet for the project:

Subscribe to my other newsletter at Future Southeast Asia for transport and urban development news in Southeast Asia.

News

🇰🇭 Cambodia

🇮🇩 Indonesia

🇱🇦 Laos

🇲🇾 Malaysia

“Transport consultant Rosli Azad Khan says the proposed transnational railway will allow for cheaper movement of bulk cargo.”

I hope that the Jakarta-Bandung HSR will make Malaysia envious enough to restart this project.

🇲🇲 Myanmar

🇵🇭 Philippines

🇸🇬 Singapore

🇹🇭 Thailand

“Bangkok-Korat line part of a system that will ultimately reach Kunming.”

"The State Railway of Thailand (SRT) is planning to turn Hua Lamphong railway station in Bangkok into a tourism landmark with a permanent exhibition of seven rare locomotives."

🇻🇳 Vietnam

“Traveling by train has become a new travel trend among young people keen to experience the slow rhythm of a relaxing journey, while watching beautiful natural scenery pass by.”

Join the conversation

or to participate.